No Longer Appealing

24 January, 2012 § 2 Comments


Grapefruit Half

From time to time I like to include some of my poetry that I’ve written so that you get a more well-rounded picture of who I am. I entitled this piece “No Longer Appealing,” and wrote it for a contest on Allpoetry.com. The prompt was abandonment and so I took a bit of a divergent view of the subject and wrote from the perspective of a citrus peel. Enjoy!

No Longer Appealing

Left for zest and that at best;
‘twas I who caught your fleeting glance,
but only for the fashion of my impassioned fruit.
For now, discarded, I am left to rot—abandoned.

                                    DLB  01/19/12

  • For more poetry click “No Longer Appealing” above the poem.
  • If you like what you read please subscribe to “Straws” and leave an intelligent comment.
  • If you would like to offer an article that talks about a straw in life; those things  that the general populace should better understood, please read the philosophy of writing section and send me an email with your article as well as anything you think I should know about you.
Tagged: , , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to No Longer Appealing

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading No Longer Appealing at One More Straw.

meta

