Slowing Down to Smell the Forsythia

7 August, 2012 § 2 Comments


Leaf lamina. The leaf architecture probably ar...

Leaf lamina. The leaf architecture probably arose multiple times in the plant lineage (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

As the pace of my life slows down I cherish my evenings like never before, knowing that they will not always be there to lend time to the pursuit of my hobbies.  Luckily, as is not the case for many people, my current hobby fits in well with my profession. I’m studying plants and herbs and trees and bushes. For now I’m just trying to get a handle on their classifications and recognizing them in the world all mixed in together instead of prettily potted on my window. Even as my life slows down, my wife’s is speeding up. This week is her midterms for pharmacology and the rest of her classes. Pharmacology is the one that worries her though, lots of math and classifications. There are at least three names for every drug and you have to know the appropriate time to use each one as well as what it does. It’s kind of what it’s like  trying to remember the names for all of the bushes and trees and vines. Only my knowledge is tested in the real world and not on paper and in my opinion, if it is considered at all, it makes all the difference.

Tagged: , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Slowing Down to Smell the Forsythia

  • allendar says:

    I love forsythia… 😀 Dad just bought me a “measles” plant…it’s so pretty…deep green leaves and pink dots all over it. Kind of makes you smile. 😀

    • Daniel Bacon says:

      I just bought a baby aloe vera plant and was given an oregano plant. Your “measles” plant sounds like a pretty but dangerous plant! 😉

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Slowing Down to Smell the Forsythia at One More Straw.

meta

