Comeuppance Culture

2 September, 2015 § Leave a comment


Then Pharisees and scribes came to Jesus from Jerusalem and said, “Why do your disciples break the tradition of the elders? For they do not wash their hands when they eat.” He answered them, “And why do you break the commandment of God for the sake of your tradition?

Matthew 15:1-3

RV-AA387A_Karma_DV_20101014232952

The world says, “hate your enemies, boycott those who curse you and begrudge those who persecute you,” Jesus says, “love your enemies, bless those who curse you, and pray for those who persecute you.” We are steeped in a comeuppance culture; a culture of fate, karma, revenge, ostracization and boycott. We are obsessed with  our own sense of justice to such a degree that if I were to pay attention to every microagression campaign that is in vogue right now, I would live off-grid in a grass hut eating locusts and honey for the rest of my  life (or at least until teachers get a fair pay). But my abode, diet and other various and mundane facts will have to wait for another article. The point is, I don’t boycott.

Here’s why.

As a believer I field calls to action against immorality and injustice every day. Strictly speaking, I shouldn’t drink Starbucks, eat Ben and Jerry’s Icecream, shop at Target, support Sin Fein, be found in a pub of any sort, be seen smoking in any context, vote democrat, mow the grass on Sunday or grow my hair over my ears or past  my collar–all of which go against someone somewhere’s biblical principles. This is where I give an answer for why I do what I want.

As a society, we have developed a tradition of cleansing which rivals that of ancient Israel, but at the same time have ignored God’s commands as mentioned above.

Here is the hope that is in me:

Romans 5:6-11 For while we were still weak, at the right time Christ died for the ungodly. For one will scarcely die for a righteous person—though perhaps for a good person one would dare even to die— but God shows his love for us in that while we were still sinners, Christ died for us. Since, therefore, we have now been justified by his blood, much more shall we be saved by him from the wrath of God. 10 For if while we were enemies we were reconciled to God by the death of his Son, much more, now that we are reconciled, shall we be saved by his life. 11 More than that, we also rejoice in God through our Lord Jesus Christ, through whom we have now received reconciliation.

While I was still an active enemy of God, Jesus died for me. I campaigned by my lifestyle against everything He stands for, and yet He served me in such a way that for me to not buy a coffee from Starbucks for an opportunity to share the gospel with my fellow customers or with my barista would be a shame to his name and to his work on the cross. He served his enemies, so I will serve mine.

Matthew 5:45 so that you may be sons of your Father who is in heaven. For he makes his sun rise on the evil and on the good, and sends rain on the just and on the unjust. 

For those who would say that I am only supporting the moguls at the top to be more wicked. I say that I am only being like my Father by giving custom to the righteous as well as the wicked, praying for their souls and taking every opportunity to share the gospel.

Those are two basic tenets of the gospel that apply to this. Do you have any others? Maybe you disagree. Tell me about it in the comments.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Comeuppance Culture at One More Straw.

meta

