A Breach in the Wall

6 August, 2017 § Leave a comment


2405895532_07800a4c1f_bI’ve recently had my eyes opened to the reality about my spirituality. I have been living in a box. A box that has been filled with Christianity but also with a myriad of other beliefs that have ferreted their way into the box in such a way as to make me completely beholden to a belief system that is self condemning but also self upholding. A world of systemic checks and balances that makes sure that everyone’s toes touch the doctrinal line. A belief system arguably taken up by those who were more concerned with the lingering smell of the last heretic than with an honest belief in who God is and what He has done regardless of the consequences. What is the difference then? I am fully convinced that God is who He says He is, has done what He has said He has done, that I am who He says I am and that I ought to do what He says I should do regardless if anyone around me is of that complete persuasion. Others lay claim to this kind of faith, but their actions and their motives betray them–a mere adherence to the workings out of the salvation of their patron saints upon whom they have built their houses and upon such dunes will they crash with ever increasing calamity to the name of the Father. With that said, I believe that there is a call to, “mend the breach,” within the body of Christ that has occurred because of the constant attacks on our defences by the devil that break through where our faith is weak or non-existent. These breaches keep us busy putting out secondary fires all the while the structural integrity of our wall is compromised. We thus cower at the threats lobbied by Sanballat, Tobiah and Geshem to the one who commissioned the work in the first place for fear that the restructuring of the walls will mean that the status quo will be tipped and their kingdoms will be conquered. This is all proverbial of course, the danger is perhaps not at a physical level, at the moment, but at the same token, we have not yet resisted to the point of shedding our blood.

Where Am I?

You are currently viewing the archives for Sunday, August 6th, 2017 at One More Straw.